Live your dream, now

 

IMG_5095 (2)“Climbing does not mean just competition and performance. It has other qualities that are important: going on trips, meeting people, seeing other cultures…” – Wolgang Gullich

It’s been a long road here, but here I am. I’m sitting in a meeting room in the back halls of Cafe Kraft in Nurembeg, Germany. These are the offices of the gym and the place where they have graciously offered to host me. I’ve come all the way from North America (Seattle and Las Vegas) to train with Dicki Korb of Gimme Kraft  whom together with Patrick Matros have raised one of climbings young-guns: Alex Megos. This training was made possible thanks to a Live Your Dream grant from the American Alpine Club.

I’ve had a desire to come and train here for a few years and when I learned of this grant, I jumped at the opportunity to help get funding to make it happen. Despite a year delay due to an injury, I am finally here, absorbing all I can and making the most of this opportunity to travel and climb in Europe for as long as I am able. I can’t thank the club enough for their support of my ambition and will blog about the process to share my learnings and experiences. Look for further blog entries here and on instagram follow the tag #liveyourdream to see photos and videos.

Thanks for following along. I’d love to entertain any questions people have about what I am doing and learning. Also, if you are an American Alpine Club member, you can apply for your own Live Your Dream Grant.

Happy Climbing, everyone!

Audrey

Disclaimer: WordPress may include ads, which I do not endorse, to various blogs following posts.

About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climber, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional baker/cook and wine connoisseur.
This entry was posted in Climbing, Fun, Road Trip, Training, Travel, Writings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

