My first visit to Origin Climbing and Fitness in Las Vegas, NV

Bouldering at Origin Climbing and Fitness

Audrey Sniezek bouldering at Origin Climbing and Fitness

I finally had a chance to visit the newest indoor climbing gym in Las Vegas. Gyms today are sprouting up left and right and each one gets better and better. This gym is no exception. Located in Henderson, Nevada right off the I515, it’s easy to get to and well located to cater to all climbers in the area as well as attract a good number of fresh clientele. Even with the year round access to outdoor climbing, the local gyms still play a role for those that either can’t get outside from time to time or simply want to train in-between their outdoor sessions. I’m really psyched to see more options in the area and think there’s room for all of them.

First,  I enjoy having variety and opportunity with gyms within a decent range from my home and this addition simply adds to the current mix in town.  It has a good saturation of fun problems with fun and interesting route setting. The problems have challenges in a number of ways with wall heights delightfully varied with appropriately set problems for the terrain. Some walls are taller than others, which is great for those that don’t enjoy highball bouldering and taking risks at certain heights. There are a range of angles to the walls, too, which is fun.  I thought the space was well thought out. Plenty of room between problems with lots of bouldering space and the bouldering pads are seamless (as all gyms should be by now) and appropriately hard/soft for the height of the walls.  I was dropping off with my bum ankle and doing fine!

Bouldering at Origin Climbing and Fitness

Audrey Sniezek bouldering at Origin Climbing and Fitness

I didn’t climb the roped climbs, but I observed people climbing on them. There is a good space of climbs, a good number of auto belays and a nice place for lead climbing. I did witness a group of people on these walls but with so much bouldering space, I was more attracted to the boulder routes than I was the roped ones.

I’d not seen this in other gyms, but they use QR codes to enable climbers to watch beta on problems in the gym. I scanned a few and watched the videos. I thought this was a neat idea and pretty useful for times when you simply find yourself stuck on a problem wishing someone strong or familiar with it would appear to give you beta. Bonus, you could tell the front desk you want to be featured and they will film you and post it on the wall.

The fitness room is nice and I love the climbing training stations in the gym. The woody, tread wall, systems wall and hangboard stations made me drool. There’s a log of problems in a book, which you can add to and explore to see what problems others have created on the systems wall. There’s even a huge yoga studio and the entire gym has various prints from local artists and posters of high profile climbers to inspire. They really add to the ambiance.

Bouldering at Origin Climbing and Fitness

Emily Hartnett bouldering at Origin Climbing and Fitness

The commute wasn’t too bad though it’s too far for me to make this my regular gym but I will come back when I can. I lost count of the number of problems we tried in the time we were there but I felt I could post up and really session there if I wanted. I definitely didn’t run out of things to do or try.  The gym is up and running with summer camps and the like and I highly recommend checking them out if you haven’t already.

Great job pulling this off Origin, I’ll see you again soon!

Disclaimer: WordPress may include ads, which I do not endorse, to various blogs following posts.

Bouldering at Origin Climbing and Fitness

Emily Hartnett bouldering at Origin Climbing and Fitness

Bouldering at Origin Climbing and Fitness

Mat Jacobson bouldering at Origin Climbing and Fitness

Bouldering at Origin Climbing and Fitness

Audrey Sniezek bouldering at Origin Climbing and Fitness

About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climbing athlete, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional enjoys baking, cooking and fine wine.
This entry was posted in Climbing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

