It’s cold, rainy, or I’m too busy…

Cookie monster

Homemade cookie monster cookies with homemade chocolate chip cookie pieces.
I got the idea from here: http://goo.gl/u84RIz

Christmas is nearly here and if you are like me, you might have what feels like a zillion things to do before the big day! Take a deep breath and remember to smile. This is, after all, the happiest time of the year.

If you are finding it hard to fit in your workouts or resist that homemade cookie your colleague graciously brought in to share with everyone, don’t fret. You are not alone. Most people throw their routines to the side when the Holidays come around and I’m no exception. In fact, since I like to bake and cook, it’s especially dangerous for me when there are so many fabulous and tasty things I want to create and share. For this reason, I give myself permission during the Holidays to ease up on my workouts, indulge a bit on food, catch up on Homeland episodes, etc.

I know come the New Year that I will pick up training more aggressively, but to avoid a burnout, it’s good to ease the throttle back from time to time. This reduces the stress or pressure I put on myself to perform, improve, and achieve making it possible for me to create more fun with climbing and rejuvenate the psyche.

Audrey Workout

Throw back to the hurt locker, garage training to stay fit.

While I do recommend that you prioritize your workout (and not stop all together) and set limits on indulgences, this is not the time to be overly critical. This is a time of giving, sharing, and compassion, especially compassion for oneself. Look back at all of your hard work this year, everything you have achieved and then share that joy with those around you. Even better, enlist them to join you in a workout!

For those that don’t have a workout routine and feel they want to start somewhere, this is the month to start a regiment. Start a routine by committing to a day and time that you will go the gym and then do it. It’s important for some people simply to just show up as a first step towards doing some activity regularly.  Enlist a friend or sign up for instruction if that will help make you accountable.

Finally, don’t procrastinate. If you can get to a gym  or head outdoors, do it, and put down that 2nd (or 3rd or 4th) cookie.  Starting now will set you up to do even better in the New Year! 🙂

Disclaimer:  WordPress may add ads, which I do not endorse, to various blogs following posts.

About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climber, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional baker/cook and wine connoisseur.
This entry was posted in Climbing, Fun, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s cold, rainy, or I’m too busy…

  1. jabegg says:

    Wow, this was awesome. Thank you so much for the PERMISSION to rest and indulge! Seriously, it’s like a weight is off my shoulders after reading this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

