A Brave New World

This is the bravest thing I’ve come across in a long time and I nearly cried watching this (yes, I’m a softie). J

From this video I became curious about ‘because I said I would.’ The idea of keeping promises to myself and to others. I fell instantly in love with their message; it’s so simple, yet why does it feel so hard??

I believe the saying ‘what you put out (into the world) comes back to you.’ I have been contemplating big changes in my life and acknowledging some areas of neglect or areas of just plain sabotage. I was pondering how to get myself back on track (let alone pick a track) and not surprisingly I suddenly begin to see themes that could help me achieve just that.

Yesterday, for instance, a fb entry caught my attention and gave me pause. The message was clear, ‘Withdrawal is the chief form of self-sabotage. Get Support!’ I’d been feeling like I should crawl into some dark hole somewhere lately. Resisting the urge to slink away into my van and hide from the world from feeling overwhelmed with the decisions I have to make, the direction I have to choose, and my ability to make lemonade out of the lemons I’m facing daily. Sometimes, I just want to escape and pretend it will all ‘just go away.’ But, I get up, get dressed and get going every morning and while the lure of the hole lingers, I have yet to indulge. Instead, with this well-timed post catching my attention, I decided it was time to take action.

Step 1. I made a phone call.

In that phone conversation I was reminded of how important it is to take responsibility for myself and hold myself accountable. Like Mathew, who enlisted ‘because I said I would,’ maybe I shouldn’t do this alone.

Step 2. As soon as I thought, ‘maybe I don’t have to do [it] alone, I was reminded that I had a team I could connect with whose sole purpose is to help each other. I made a meeting with an old friend and started some research on re-connecting our old Advancement of Excellence group.

Achieving life goals does not have to be hard and you do not have to do it alone.‘Β 

Step 3. I found ‘because I said I would’ and am pondering a set of meaningful and achievable promises I can make to myself that I would want to be held accountable for and actually see results from doing. I guess my first promise is to rethink what’s important to me. I’m hoping step 2 will help me with this.

Nothing on my list will be as life changing as Mathew’s, so if Mathew can take this huge step, then what is holding me back from taking any one of the steps in front of me?Β 

About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climbing athlete, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional enjoys baking, cooking and fine wine.
This entry was posted in Musings, News and politics, Writings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

