Getting Back on the Horse

Audrey having some fun in Red Rocks

Audrey having some fun in Red Rocks. Photo by Rich Wheater

No amount of words, comforting or otherwise, can take away the frustration of not being able to do what I desire. Despite being resilient and adaptable, setbacks and injuries continue to teach me patience and humility. My year has been a mixed bag of encounters with many things not going the way I wanted them to. What can I do but keep moving and trust in the process? From bouts of anger and poor attitudes to minor successes and optimism, today was a leap in progress that has me beaming with excitement. I must remind myself to temper my success because I am not back at 100% and pushing too far too fast will result in either new or re-injury. That said, I wanted to take a moment to express to everyone out there suffering from a set back or injury that I know what you are going through and I get how unsettling it can be. I also understand that isolating yourself during this time can add to the emotional stress for coping with the situation. While I’m not exactly back to my desired fitness, I am finally feeling ‘back on the horse.’ My tips to everyone else out there trying to feel or attain the same position,

  1. Take the time to heal, whether that means getting the right medical care, physio or rest
  2. Come back slowly; better to err on the conservative side of things than push things too fast and potentially set yourself back more
  3. Create a supportive community to help you stay sane and give you ample social opportunity outside your normal realm; the healing time will go by much more quickly if you can do this straight awayโ€ฆdon’t be afraid to reach out again and again to keep yourself engaged.
About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climbing athlete, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional enjoys baking, cooking and fine wine.
This entry was posted in Climbing, Fun, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

