Touching first hand account of life from a brave man

I stumbled on this blog through a catchy headline on CNN and started reading his entries. His writings captured my attention and intrigue as I knew the ending of the story going into this. Having watched dear ones suffer and witnessed the acceptance transformation, I’m humbled to be anything but happy and grateful for the time I have here in this life.

Derek Miller of http://www.penmachine.com/ is the age of my brother and not far off from my own age. While heartbreaking to read his story, it reminds me that, as Derek puts it, life comes at you fast and (as I would suggest) passes by even faster. His writing is a reminder to me that things in this life ‘are,’ not good or bad, just real. And, having expectations for how life will turn out (in any moment) is just setting myself up for a long series of disappointments.

My only constant in this life is me (and I’m also ever changing/evolving) and while I may leave this life solo, the journey doesn’t have to be. I’m striving to smile at life’s dynamics and appreciate those on the journey with me. If you don’t have a chance to read some of Derek’s blog, I’ve trimmed out the parts that stood out most for my own blog post.  Thank you, Derek, for your insight and contribution.

The best: “It turns out that no one can imagine what’s really coming in our lives…[it’s] neither bad nor good, but it is real…pursue what [you] enjoy, and what stimulates [your] minds…so [you] can be ready for opportunities, as well as not disappointed when things go sideways…The world, indeed the whole universe, is a beautiful, astonishing, wondrous place.”

I couldn’t agree more as I sip my fresh brew in the cave on Mount Potosi, enjoying the sounds of morning, surrounded by limestone, high on life after a great evening of friends, tunes, fire, smore’s, hot dogs (never eat more than 2!) and tasty margarita’s.

About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climbing athlete, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional enjoys baking, cooking and fine wine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

