1102ABS Nationals Finals

ABS Nationals

February 12, 2011landing

      What a show! The
consistently and incredibly challenging problems kept everyone guessing
who was going to win! I was on the edge of my seat and it really did
come down to the last problem for both men and women. Sean McColl
needing the flash and getting it. Alex Puccio needing the send and
nailing it on her flash attempt. As a spectator, I was gripped from
start to finish. Congratulations winners and thanks for an amazing
performance.

   Despite my own performance, I somehow managed
to squeek into semi's. I can't hide that I was excited to give it
another shot, but I was also a bit leary. I had a lot of stuff going on
in my mind and getting shut down on these problems wasn't helping.
Despite the better mental state of qualifiers, I seemed to let my nerves
get the best of me in Semis. I was rushed, not breathing and seemingly
scared to take the highball falls–such a fear cost me a top and my
chance to make the top 10. Super
lame. My finishing outcome was not what I had hoped for and I have to
wonder how many more of these insane highball bouldering competitions my
mind and my body can take.  

     With that said, it only
emphasises how incredibly strong willed or fearless these competitors
are!  No fear, just climb and take the huge falls. Good on you! I
have some video footage I'll share once I can get my stuff uploaded.

About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climber, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional baker/cook and wine connoisseur.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

