ah, the weather of Smith

This has been an unusual spring, indeed! While I’ve been here, I have had weather in the 70’s all the way down to freezing! I went down to the cliff yesterday hoping to get in a few climbs, but only froze my fingers nearly off. The sun made the weather deceiving. The sun was out most of the morning, with few clouds and snow showers interspersed, but mostly really good conditions. I had to work so I missed the prime time. By the time I got down there it was mostly clouds with blowing wind and snow showers. I let others climb ahead of me if they were ready because I wasn’t warmed up and I didn’t want them to cool down and numb out on their last day’s attempt at their project. After about an hour, I figured I might as well try to climb. It was miserable. My fingers felt like they would snap at any moment. I didn’t get pumped but I never got warm. That was the beginning and the end of my day out.
Β 
Here are a few pictures from yesterday. The icicles are from a home that left their sprinkler on during the day. πŸ™‚Β 
Β 
the white out
Β 
some deer in the road
Β 
more deer this morning.
About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climber, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional baker/cook and wine connoisseur.
This entry was posted in Climbing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ah, the weather of Smith

  1. Gerry says:

    Great pictures!

Leave a Reply

