New Year resolutions

Intention. This is a really powerful word, full of meaning and interpretation. Instead of New Year Resolutions, I ask myself what my intention for the year will be. One focus that I can be mindful of that will set my year on the right track. Typically I choose something that I am not good at to help me learn how to improve in this area; something to enhance my life experience and hopefully make me a better person for it. Currently, I strive for peace and enjoyment in all aspects of my life. But, what to focus on for this year; peace and enjoyment are really actionable…they are more bi-products of some other action(s)?
 
Appreciation worked well for me one year, but humor did not. I think Peace and Enjoyment can come out from having a bit of patience. And, I think I’ve already been practicing this word for the last year; but this year, I set my intention to have Patience in all I do or think.  Sometimes I’m a little firecracker, and some patience would help me to calm down and not over react. Sometimes, I’m so passionate about what I want to do or what I’m about that I forget about everyone around me. Patience would help temper my enthusiasm and leave room for me to look out at others and see how to engage them along the way. Finally, with myself, I’m very quick to judge and criticize myself that some patience would help draw more internal compassion and thereby, instill more peace. Therefore, for the New Year, I resolve to be more Patient.
About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climber, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional baker/cook and wine connoisseur.
This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Year resolutions

  1. John says:

    Certainly an interesting idea in terms of having an intention. Somewhat reminiscent of Franklin\’s virtues which bear some thought. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Benjamin_Franklin#Virtue

  2. Audrey says:

    Franklin\’s virtues seem way more disciplined than mine. Afterall, he\’d practice one a week and i have to take all year to get a hold on one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

