I still enjoy working for the ‘Evil Empire’

Some days I walk away from work thinking ‘wow, this is such a cool place to work!’  After 13 years, you would think that I would feel differently. Afterall, many of my friends have heard me whine and complain about the over processed behemoth at some point. But, I suppose it happens when you have been through so many changes and grown up with one impression, only to find it’s morphed into something mammoth over time. Now, I’m not dissing the company, not at all. change is change and sometimes it’s a bit of an adjustment, but despite everything and all of this time, today was a day where I remember why I worked for this company for so long…the people. I looked around at all of my colleagues today, listened to speeches, celebrated our hard work and afterwards reflected on the team. This team is smart, they’re fun, they’re a bit type A typical Microsoft employee, but it’s a small team and it feels cozy and intimate to work in…you really get to know the people and in my position, that’s critical to job success. While no team is perfect, I couldn’t have stumbled upon a better place to work, even if I’m only there in a vendor capacity right now.
About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climber, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional baker/cook and wine connoisseur.
This entry was posted in Computer Science and other geek things. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I still enjoy working for the ‘Evil Empire’

  1. Ed says:

    What team are you working for now?

  2. Audrey says:

    High Performanc Computing

Leave a Reply

