Teva Mountain Games 2008

 

The Teva Mountain Games took place this past weekend in Vail, Colorado. I’d been looking forward to it since registering for the citizen’s competition back in March.  To read about my take on the World Cup see my website at www.audreysniezek.com. I put a lot of pictures out on my webshots site, too.

 
As for the Citizen’s competition, while I was psyched to be climbing on the world cup walls, there were a lot of other detractors that changed the event from a competition to a fun climbing session. The problems were really good and I wish I’d had a chance to climb more of them. As it was, in 3 hours I had time to only climb 7 problems. They were taking top 4, and trying to get problems that I could flash to make up that top 4 took a lot of time. In the end, a strategic mistake on my part had me lose an opportunity to try something harder than my current hardest. I’ll never know if I could have done better. With 100 people spread across 7 judges, wait times were up to 20 minutes for a problem. Discrepancies in judging and other logistical issues, were challenges out of my control to over come. In the end, I believe I could have done better, at least by one spot, but now, I’ll never know. The girl who took 2nd had climbed these problems in the youth competition two days prior and she took 2nd with 100 points above me. The girl who took first, beat us by 1000 points. I have no idea who she is or what problems she sent that got her that score. All in all, you can see that it was possible to climb harder, I just should have come in warmed up and ready to climb hard out of the gate. Chalk it up as ore lessons for me to learn about competition climbing. As I saw with the world cup competitors, the best can adapt and still win even under the most challenging of circumstances that are out of their control.
About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climbing athlete, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional enjoys baking, cooking and fine wine.
This entry was posted in Climbing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

