Torn Two Worlds, March 21, 2008

Friday March 21, 2008 


I'm living out of my van, but I'm not currently 'on
the road.' Life has taken an unexpected turn. After
traveling to climb for the past 8 months, I had
planned in my mind to work this spring and earn some
money to sustain traveling for a time longer.
Unfortunately, the job I had anticipated getting
when I arrived, fell through. I continue to look for
the type of work that I want, but 3 weeks in and
still nothing. Meanwhile, while I am in town, I've
been taking care of business like being a good
citizen and paying my taxes. I also spend a fair bit
of time between libraries and the local gyms, to
keep sane.

As I'm still planning to be here for a few months,
I'm getting into a bit of a routine and settling
into life here, which includes picking up my car
from storage. Now, my van has become my home and my
car, my ride. It's odd, really, living in my
hometown but living out of my van. Driving around
town in the symbol of my past corporate life, but
currently not having a job. The moment I brought the
two worlds together was the moment I realized I was
torn between what each represented. I'm finding it
difficult to reconcile these two worlds of mine, but
at the same time I'm not feeling pressured to
detangle or resolve either. I'm only hoping my time
here is not wasted because I could think of better
places to spend my time living out of the van, like
Indian Creek where my boyfriend is sunning it up
cracks!

About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climbing athlete, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional enjoys baking, cooking and fine wine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.