Hueco, January 24, 2008

Thursday January 24, 2008 

Back in Hueco and finally climbing and writing,
again.

Since returning to Hueco earlier this month, I've
been mostly sick with a tad bit of spontaneous
travel thrown in to keep me out of climbing and out
of contact.

Highlights right now are that I'm back bouldering in
Hueco. It feels very different from a month ago, but
I am slowly getting fit again. My rehab has been
going really well in the meantime, with my dr
suggesting that I may be doing more conditioning
than rehab work at this point. This is a good sign!
There is still a bit of work to do and some
imbalances to improve upon, but overall, my body
seems to be more normal right now with very few, if
any, flare ups. πŸ™‚  Yay!

I know El Paso is not on most people's place to
visit, but if you want a knowledgeable, passionate
and caring Dr. to help you through a spinal problem
and rehabilitation, then I suggest you look up
Dr. Muniz.
He's been fabulous! The only rehab person who takes
the time needed to work with me. And, he cares a lot
about his practice and the work he does that you can
see the changes/tweaks he makes and the passion come
through by the way he treats his patients and how he
manages his business.  From e-stim, ultrasound,
on site managed conditioning, x-rays, massage and
chiropractic manipulations, I have not found better
care anywhere else. In only 3 weeks, I have already
begun to see and feel the difference and it's
lasting longer!

While I have been preoccupied with getting healthy,
I noticed that

Sir Edmund Hillary
, one of the first two persons
to summit Mt. Everest back in 1953, died this month.
A true legend. Among his achievements, I was most
struck by how he gave back to the Nepalese. His
"Himalayan trust built dozens of schools and medical
clinics, bridges, water systems and two hospitals." 
Reminds me to consider how I am giving back to the
various communities I am visiting while traveling.

 

About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climbing athlete, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional enjoys baking, cooking and fine wine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.