Back in Seatle, First week of work

Although I’ve categorized this entry as part of my roadtrip, it would seem that I am easily back into my corporate life.  I am living with a friend in Kirkland sleeping on my bed (he’s kind to store it for me 🙂 and working back at Microsoft though in a somewhat different capacity: as a contractor instead of a fulltime employee. This transition has not been easy, but I made it through this week and I feel more or less adjusted. I am continually surprised at the acclimation process from one style of living to the next. Now, despite being back at work, I’m still more or less in travel mode. I have only the clothes that I have been traveling with along with a few pieces I recently purchased and some that I found in one or two of my boxes from storage when I was there to clean things out a bit. I’m also not climbing nearly as much as when I was on the road. I’m not acclimating fully back to the life I had because I want to continue this journey I’ve set out on come this fall. The summer job is a great way for me to make some $ and give my body a break. It feels somewhat surreal to be back working in a team I used to work in and not be full-time, but the familiar work and faces is making the time enjoyable all the same.

About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climbing athlete, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional enjoys baking, cooking and fine wine.
This entry was posted in Road Trip. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back in Seatle, First week of work

  1. Unknown says:

    you\’re so lucky to be in a career that has that kind of temporary job opportunity at your level.good luck with your recovery 😉

Leave a Reply

