6 months of nomadic life

Some days it’s hard to believe it’s only been 6 months since I left Seattle and took up the life of a nomad (a climbing nomad).  Surprisingly since coming to Australia, I have felt the least nomadic. I attribute this to the fact that I am no longer living out of a van. 🙂  For our time here, we have planned to be more settled by renting a room or a house for most of the time we will be here. Though it increases our daily living cost, it provides a better comfort that allows for Mike (in particular) to continue to work while we travel. We’ve been fortunate to find housing near our climbing destinations at reasonable rates with flexible arrangements. The downside is that we don’t really get to mingle with other traveling climbers because we aren’t roughing it out with them in the various camp sites. So, what have I learned on my nomadic journey?  what do i like best or least? and, where do i go from here? 
 
First, what have I learned on this nomadic journey?
 
  • People are basically the same from place to place. 
  • Means to an end are really the only major differences I continue to experience.
  • I’ve learned how environmentally aware I really am (both mentally and practising).
  • Home really is ‘where you lay your hat.’
  • I don’t miss a thing of mine in storage
  • I still pack too many clothes for traveling and I still find myself lacking some piece of clothing from time to time
  • My hair really doesn’t look too bad air dried and unstyled (particularly thanks to my stylist who knows how to cut my hair!)
  • Showering every day seems excessive 
  • No matter how prepared i think i am for a new city/country, there is always something different about each place that will surprise me. For example, after living in Natimuk for the past month
    • I no longer rinse my dishes. it now seems acceptable to just wash, then dry (and never with running water from the tap. always from a pre-filled tub or in a pre-filled sink)
    • regularly drinking rain water doesn’t put me off
    • washing my hands with pre treated water feels like a treat

What do I like best about the last 6 months?

  • There is very little stress in my day to day life
  • I take better care of my health and I feel healthier more regularly without much effort (my last cold was exactly 1 week after I quit working and started on this journey. it was really, really bad. i have yet to experience another cold since then! there’s something to be said about stress detoxing.)

What do I like least about the last 6 months?

  • I wish I could have my friends traveling with me. I miss everyone soo much sometimes! 

Finally, where do I go from here?

  • Well, there is no plan to leave Australia, yet. There are events (people graduating, getting married, etc) on the horizon that I would love to be back in the states for, but so far, no return ticket has been purchased. My ideal next stop would be Africa. I would really enjoy hiking Kilamanjaro (and wish I’d done it while the glacier still existed!), going on safari and climbing in South Africa where the climbing is supposed to be really good. 
  • Our living expenses seem to remain an average of $500 /month each. I keep trying to cut this back, but like Mike, I am unwilling to sacrifice some creature comforts (I think I had enough sacrificing in my earlier years!).
  • Despite that I am not desperate for $, yet, I really want to get started with doing some work that brings in some money.  For now, I am looking at freelance work. I figure I can always build from there. I’ve also applied for a skilled worker’s visa for Australia. I was hoping if I was granted one, I might stay on in Oz for another 6 months (beyond my original plan) and contract myself out (or be contracted out) for short term projects.  This would give me an even more solid feeling of having some roots here and be the ultimate test of my employability globally (well, more than just the states, anyway!).

So there you have it, more or less. 🙂  6 months, what do you think? I’d really like to open up the ‘Ask Audrey’ forum to get an idea for what questions people may have that I am not answering. so, ask away!! 🙂

 
About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climber, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional baker/cook and wine connoisseur.
This entry was posted in Road Trip. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 6 months of nomadic life

  1. Shyam says:

    Very inspiring – Well, not so about the part on daily showers *lol* .. but, no really!

Leave a Reply

