Made it to Oz

We arrived in Sydney!
    Day one was interesting, what with learning how to drive on the left side of the road!  Mike has been driving because it’s his friend’s car, but even as a passenger I get easily confused with where to look or if we are turning into the right (or in this case ‘left’, hahaha) lane.  Last night we were picked up at the airport and it took me a few minutes before I registered that the woman in the ‘driver’s’ seat was not driving. I even noticed that when walking in the stores, people pass on the right.  We were headed up the escalator and I joked that we should be conscious to stand on the left so people can pass on the right, yet somehow, inadvertantly, we still ended up on the right!  Fortunately there was no queue behind us; only one man who appreciated our awareness but chose not to pass all the same. 🙂 
    I am strangely comfortable with Australia so far. I think it’s the european-esque nature that I find all around me. From road signs to nomenclature, there is a similarity to mainland europe that I relate to. I also have begun wondering how the US got to be so ‘backwards!’  The more I travel, the more I learn how similar many westernized countries are and how dissimilar the US is from them.  Having a heritage that descends from Europe makes me more curious how we ended up diverging so much.
 
ps. wish i could tag this blog under more than one category. 🙂
About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climber, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional baker/cook and wine connoisseur.
This entry was posted in Road Trip. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Made it to Oz

  1. John says:

    It\’s a lot easier to stay on the correct side of the road if there\’s traffic, and the steering wheel is in the right place.  I used to have a car in the UK with the steering wheel on the left, which makes driving on the left a challenge.
     
    I think you guys call it the war of independence 😉  so think of it as what happens given the opportunity to start fresh, and then the societal evolutionary forces are much different in Europe from the US with all the land and resources available early on.

Leave a Reply

