2 Months Fit, 2 Months Fat

When I started out on this roadtrip, I didn’t know what to expect in terms of fitness. I expected that I would be climbing a lot and hoped that I would remain injury free and healthy throughout. For the first 2 months, things started out slowly but progressed well. I was fortunate that Mike had a project to entertain him at the Red River Gorge so I could project something, myself. By the end of the trip, I was feeling the fittest I’ve felt in a long time. I also felt strong and content with my ability and performance to that point. From there, it seems as if everything has gone in the opposite direction.

The last place I remember feeling somewhat strong was El Salto and I couldn’t get enough of that climbing. Unfortunately, our situation dictated a move north, which meant in the end that I would not be climbing much for another month. It is now 2 months since the Red and I have gained weight and feel unfit. I can’t climb anything right now and worse, my body is back in rehab trying to correct some spinal rotations. From my latest set of exams, I could hypothesize that the rotations and lack of a spinal curve in my neck have played a large role in the earlier problems I was experiencing with nerve impingement and repetitive stress symptoms. After my first week of adjustments and therapy, we hit the road, again. This time we headed to Vegas. Again, no climbing; although I did try to climb at the Red Rocks, it was not happening for me.

Today, at the Virgin River Gorge, I am feeling unfit and unwell. Climbing feels really hard but everything looks so fun! I didn’t do much today, but I’ll try again tomorrow and hopefully it won’t be long before I am back into it! Right now, I just feel like I am missing out.

About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climbing athlete, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional enjoys baking, cooking and fine wine.
This entry was posted in Road Trip. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

