Farewell Seattle, hello adventure! –extended

I can’t believe the time has come to say farewell to Seattle.  At long last, I am on my way to an adventure of a lifetime!  I had this idea 2 years ago that I wanted to take time to travel and climb to my heart’s content.  I was stronger then, and healthier, but I leave knowing the desire remains.  I’m lucky to have found someone with whom I really connect with on many levels, climbing being one of them.  And, extra lucky that he shared the same ambition that now we have planned this adventure together!
 
I’ve traded in my Audi and he his Toyota Tacoma for a VW Eurovan Camper that we will call home for as long as we are in this hemisphere.  I haven’t taken any photos of it, yet, but plan to post one of us as we hit the road later in the week.  A lot of preperation and time has gone into pulling this together and not unlike shipping software, no matter how prepared I think I am, there seems to always be something to pop up that I want to do before I leave.  Well, here’s to as good of planning as I was able to do.  This van leaves Friday night and I’ll be fielding all remaining issues from the road.  I’ll let you know how that goes!  🙂
 
Let me give you a brief tour of our itinerary.   As soon as we are on the road, my #1 goal will be to create a web site for our trip.  Meanwhile, I’ll put snippets here until it is up. Oh, and check out Mike’s homepage as he’ll have more information there, too.
 
Since our first stop is Smith Rock State Park, I wanted our trip to feel like any other weekend when we go there. Hence the bee-line there after work this Friday.  We’ll stay for just over a week before heading east to Red River Gorge, Kentucky by way of Yellowstone National Park, Mt. Rushmore, Chicago, Indiana, and Ohio.  We’ll cross our fingers for good weather through November and hope to migrate like the birds, south and over the border to el potrero chico and Puerto Escondido for the winter.  Places we’d like to go after are Australia and South Africa, but time, money, weather and apparently the Jr. World’s location could all influence our travel plans. 
 
 
 
About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climber, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional baker/cook and wine connoisseur.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Farewell Seattle, hello adventure! –extended

  1. Genevieve says:

    Wow, I\’m jealous!! Good luck Audrey. Mike looks like a nice guy and I\’m glad you found someone special to share your adventure.

  2. Kathy says:

    Very good luck.  I might actually be in El Potrero this November for a couple of weeks.  Maybe we\’ll bump into each other!!!
     
    Take care and you are soooo lucky to have a climbing partner 🙂

Leave a Reply

