Baking bread

This was the 3rd time I’ve tried to bake bread.  The first two times I made baguettes, but this time I wanted to make loaves and baguettes.  The baguettes were ok, I forgot to roll them so they turned out a little flat, and the loaves I put in tins to rise and they rose well until I put them into the oven and then they dropped. 😦  Anyone know what happened? 
 
Btw, the breads I am making have 1/2 wheat flour, 1/2 white flour, a little corn oil, a hint of sugar and some salt (and of course yeast).  Nothing complicated, yet. 🙂
 
 
About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climber, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional baker/cook and wine connoisseur.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baking bread

  1. Scott says:

    Sounds like there was a little too much water in the dough. That can make the bread drop during baking. You also might try letting them rise twice. Let the dough rise in a bowl, then punch down the dough. Seperate the dough into the bread tins and let rise again, then bake. Good luck! 

  2. Audrey says:

    I did two rises and they rose wonderfully.  Maybe it was too much water, still.  I\’ll keep this in mind for next time.  Thanks!

Leave a Reply

