Late fees assessed

I’m sure everyone already knows to do this, but here is a friendly reminder just in case.    Whenever you get a late fee and depending on elapsed time between the late fee assessment and payment, you should contact the billing office and negotiate the charge.  I use the automatic billing system through my bank for a particular bill.  Due to the holidays the payment came one day later than the due date.  I have never been late on a Bill, but with automated systems these days it is an automatic assessment.  I found the late fee on my latest invoice and called the company to dispute the charge.  The lady mentioned that the late fee was flagged that it could be removed.  I was mildly annoyed only because I know that if my account would have been handled by a person who is familiar with me and my payment habits then this error or incurred fee would never have occurred and I wouldn’t have to be inconvenienced to make the call to correct the situation.  Mind you, there wasn’t any hassle about removing the charge.  The woman simply reminded me to allow three additional business days whenever the due date lies around a holiday.  So, this is a friendly reminder to anyone out there reading this to check your billing statements carefully and whenever reasonable call the billing office to negotiate any late charges.  There’s no need to pay more than you have to if you can help it. 🙂
About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climber, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional baker/cook and wine connoisseur.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

