Fraud alert

Today I discovered my credit card information had been stolen and misused.  There were a number of fraudulent purchases against the card.  Some of the initial purchases went through because the amounts seemed "reasonable."  Then, thankfully, the criminal attempted to charge $2500 against the card.  My credit card company is in the habit of denying transactions that look unusual, especially at such a large amount, even when it is a purchase I have made and that is legit.  Once the credit card company denies a transaction due to suspicion of use, there can be no further transactions until the transaction is verified.  Even after verification, there can still be denials for other transactions.  Thankfully, this process  kept the total amount of fraud pretty low.  Still, when it comes to peace of mind, this kind of thing has me nervous for all kinds of frauds and worse–identity theft!

About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climbing athlete, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional enjoys baking, cooking and fine wine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fraud alert

  1. Shyam says:

    hmm, I feel like I don\’t have as much money as I think I should have in my bank account [too]. I wonder if someone else is spending it for me 🙂 time to check the statements ..

Leave a Reply

