Experimenting with plums

A friend of mine has a plum tree in his backyard teaming with plums.  I’ve never baked with plums before, so I offered to go pick some plums and experiment.  The following recipes are the results of these experiments along with my comments.  By far my favorite is the plain plum, succulently sweet yet tart at the same time.  Having never baked with plums I had to do some research to find some recipes.  Some common themes popped up, so I looked for the unique and unusual.  You can find these recipes at the following link ,

 first, I started with a plum cobbler.  If you notice in the recipe it says something about self rising flour.  I could not find any flour that was self rising so I used what I had.  What I discovered was that the flour bits that were supposed to be scones turned out to be more like a pastry lining.  I simmered down the plums quite well, there were really no big chunks left.  In the end this turned out really well.  The combination of the plum mixture and the pastry lining made for making tasty plum squares.  

Next, I wanted to make a plum kuchen.  This required a bit more work than a cobbler or a plum pie, which I also made, but it turned out quite well.  I don’t think I will make this recipe again.  It was a bit laborious and heavily caloric.  Of course, I wasn’t eating the whole thing.  Proportionally it was not as bad as I think but still, every little bit helps (or in this case hinders).  🙂

 The plum pie reminded me quite a bit of a good cherry pie, which I found surprising.  To keep texture in the mix I did not simmer the plums that long.  Before adding the mixture into the pie crust, I added a few more plums and did not let them simmer at all.  This was a good idea for texture, not so good for balancing the tartness in the mix.  🙂

This Weekend, or maybe after Mike leaves, I will try making some jam.  There is a tasty mango salsa for pork chops that I want to try, too.  This little experiment of mine, cooking with plums, has turned out quite well.  I’m learning a bit about this fruit and expanding my repertoire of recipes.  I should’ve taken a picture of one of my deserts just to tempt you, the reader.  🙂

About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climbing athlete, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional enjoys baking, cooking and fine wine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Experimenting with plums

  1. John says:

    Try adding baking powder to make the flour self-rising.We used to have several plum trees, and unfortunately couldn\’t pick them all before they\’d drop, and then we\’d be battling the wasps to sweep them up (several large trash cans of rotting plums) which put me off plums.

  2. Audrey says:

    Thankfully it\’s my friends tree, not mine. 🙂 Baking soda, eh? I\’ll keep that in mind.

Leave a Reply

