‘Parting is such sweet sorrow’

There’s a kind of whirlwind effect that happens when I’m visiting with family.  This time, the whirlwind swept through WA with my sister and her family visiting over Easter and part of spring break. She brought 3 of her 4 children and her husband, Danny, with her.  I live in an apartment, albeit I have two bedrooms and two full baths, it’s a small space and kept everyone kind of cozy.  The kids were very well behaved though I don’t know that I ever saw Victoria (the youngest, age 4) or Jordan (the next oldest, age 6) walk.  I believe every chance they had to cover ground, they ran for it! I mean full sprints! At my office workplace, you could see heads lift and turn as the the two of them bolted from the elevators, across the building, down the halls to my office.  This energy is the whirlwind I’m talking about.  A kind of refreshing and reinvigorating change from my ordinary daily life. 

The week went by quickly and my place seems eerily quiet now that they have left.  Sending them off last night at the airport and waiting for them to clear security, I was able to observe similar partings from other people around me. It was a time of sweet sorrow. All of us sharing in the sadness of our loved ones departure and presumably all of us also wishing safety in their travels and looking forward to the day when we will meet up, again.

Some pics from their visit can be found here: http://community.webshots.com/album/304237404MbtkyP

About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climbing athlete, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional enjoys baking, cooking and fine wine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘Parting is such sweet sorrow’

  1. Jaime says:

    love the easter pics!

Leave a Reply

