ABS6 Nationals

This was my first season competing in the ABS series through Nationals.  I had a lot of fun and learned a lot about competition climbing. In addition, I met and climbed amongst many talented climbers, which was very cool. 

Everything about the competition was a little scary for me. I’d never competed in that format, but once in Regionals in January and I’d never seen a (let alone competed in a) National competition before. For nationals, qualifiers was in onsight format as well as the finals.  It was very strange to have my name cheered out from a loudspeaker with an audience of spectators sizing me up against all previous competitors.  I felt a bit overwhelmed with everything but despite my nervousness or anxiousness, I think I kept myself calm enough to be smart about my climbing and I think I climbed well or as well as I could under these pressures.    I thought the competition problems were good and I really did have a lot of fun, which was really all that mattered to me in the end anyway. 

Wiith this season ending I don’t want to set any expectations about competing like this again until next season.  🙂  Right now, I’m looking forward to possibly competing in one more comp and then enjoying the rest of the year recreationally climbing.

I hope someone posts pictures from this comp somewhere because I don’t have any otherwise.  🙂

Results can be found here:

http://www.rockcomps.com/rockcomps/comps/event_details.cfm?id=952

and here (with some photos, not a whole lot from the finals round…not even one of Natasha  Barnes sending the last problem–she was the only one to send that problem!)

http://www.touchstoneclimbing.com/absnationals.html.

Here are 2 random photos taken from this link:

 

About Audrey Sniezek

Audrey Sniezek is a rock climbing athlete, climbing coach, computer software/technology enthusiast and occasional enjoys baking, cooking and fine wine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

